Software Development Lifecycle SDLC: An Introduction

The testing team receives the developed software, where Software Testers and Quality Analysts conduct various tests to detect defects. Upon finding any defects, the testing team documents and reports them to the development team for error removal. The testing team ensures that each component of the software is error-free and works as expected. The Requirement Phase is the initial and crucial step in the Software Development Life Cycle. It involves gathering requirements from customers or clients, which is usually handled by Business Analysts. It is the Business Analysts’ responsibility to ensure accurate documentation and capturing of all details, and that everyone understands the client’s requirements.

sdlc basics

Some severe defects require updates in the design stage, while most problems take the app back to the development stage. This stage requires a combined effort of business analytics, operations, leadership, development, and security teams. In some use cases, asking end users for input is also a valuable source of info. Ensuring every phase of the SDLC accounts for security is vital, but do not overlook the value of a dedicated testing phase.

SDLC: Planning Phase

For example, if you strive to build software designed for hourly employees, as Zoomshift has done, or time tracking software, you would start at the “requirement analysis” stage. If you haven’t yet started your journey as a software developer, you might ask yourself, “Is software development for me? ” Here are some signs that this career path might be one that you will enjoy.

sdlc basics

The spiral model is an iterative software development approach that involves risk assessment. The spiral model’s phases are repeated several times, with each iteration enhancing the program and lowering the likelihood of faults. The software development lifecycle (SDLC) is an important process for software development because it provides an organized approach to developing software.

What Are the Seven Stages of the SDLC?

The six stages of the SDLC include planning, defining requirements, design, development, testing and finally deployment. A good understanding of programming or testing or project management will give you an added advantage and help you gain maximum from this tutorial. Each SDLC model offers a unique process for your team’s various project challenges.

Project teams are also focused on finding opportunities to cut waste at every turn throughout the SDLC process, from dropping unnecessary meetings to reducing documentation. The Agile model first emerged in 2001 and has since become the de facto industry standard. Some businesses value the Agile methodology so much that they apply it to other types of projects, including nontech initiatives. He was able to allocate resources to the planning phase before he started to do anything else. The founders spent time on application and website design knowing that if they planned correctly the actual architecting and design stage would be smoother. Each step must be completed before proceeding to the next phase in the development journey.

For Example, A client wants to have an application which concerns money transactions. In this method, the requirement has to be precise like what kind of operations will be done, how it will be done, in which currency it will be done, etc. The senior members of the team perform it with inputs from all the stakeholders and domain experts or SMEs in the industry. The following figure is a graphical representation of the various stages of a typical SDLC. Take measures in development to harden and keep your web backend secure.

sdlc basics

Therefore, at this stage, all the probable flaws are tracked, fixed, and retested. This ensures that the product confronts the quality requirements of SRS. SRS is a reference for software designers to come up with the best architecture for the software. Hence, with the requirements defined in SRS, multiple designs for the product architecture are present sdlc basics in the Design Document Specification (DDS). After evaluating all the possible factors, the most practical and logical design is chosen for development. An SDLC is a conceptual outline of the software creation process, while Agile is a project management methodology that focuses on a cyclical, iterative progression while building software.

  • The V model is a Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) that is based on the Waterfall model and emphasizes the verification and validation of the product.
  • The product leaves the testing phase and is ready to go into production.
  • This procedure where the care is taken for the developed product is known as maintenance.
  • Planning involves defining the scope of the project, defining project goals, and figuring out what resources are needed to finish the project.
  • This stage requires a combined effort of business analytics, operations, leadership, development, and security teams.

This phase is when all the software components are created and assembled. In this SDLC phase, the software specification is turned into a clearly defined design plan, also known as a design specification. Important stakeholders review this document based on the product’s robustness, risk assessment, design modularity, timeline, cost, and other parameters. With an unambiguous SRS, the software development team plans the best way to achieve the goal of creating the software.

sdlc basics

For this, developers use a specific programming code as per the design in the DDS. Hence, it is important for the coders to follow the protocols set by the association. Conventional programming tools like compilers, interpreters, debuggers, etc. are also put into use at this stage. Some popular languages like C/C++, Python, Java, etc. are put into use as per the software regulations.